SG of the Month – Katia Babs

Santorini Girl of the Month: Katia Babs 

Originally from: U.S.A 

I met Katia back in 2013 and it’s been fun times ever since. I’m lucky to call her a friend of mine and here she tells her own Santorini Story …

Yasas! My name’s Katia and I’m a 29 year old Greek American from Boston who now lives on the beautiful island of Santorini. My first trip to the island was at the age of 16 when I came with my family. I remember the beautiful view of the caldera but little else. The second trip was something more memorable; a trip that changed my life.

The summer of 2011, I arrived in Santorini via ferry with a good friend of mine. We had no plans which is usually the best way to travel. We easily found a small hotel to stay in for the next few days, our only mission was to explore the island and continue on to Mykonos for more adventures. The first night in Fira (the capital city with all the action) was so much fun that we decided we wanted to extend our stay a few extra days. That first night I met a local named Manolis at the Highlander bar and for the remainder of our vacation, he and I were inseparable. He took me all over the island and we explored places that even he had never been to before as a local. Within a matter of days I had fallen in love with this beautiful place and this incredible man. Needless to say, I didn’t want to leave and we vowed that this was not goodbye; he would come visit me in Boston and I would return to Santorini. Manolis arrived in Boston a few months months later and it was magical (pause for a romantic sigh). As I said I would, I returned to Santorini the following summer of 2012. This past Sunday, June 22nd marks our 3 year anniversary and I can honestly say that I love him and his island with all of my heart.

We live in the quiet town of Karterados, just a few minutes from Fira where everyone knows your name and the color of your underwear 🙂 It’s a peaceful, friendly and relaxed lifestyle that only Greece can understand and I have come to love and appreciate. My first summer here I was lucky enough to meet Elly (another Santorini Girl contributer) and we’ve been friends ever since. Last summer I met Belinda (Santorini Girl/Writer) and this summer the three of us girls have already spent so many wonderful days drinking frappe and tanning on the beaches.

I love to explore all that Santorini has to offer with activities, dance, fitness, adventure, and above all…romance ❤

image2

Leave a Reply

